Member Login

Club History

Founded in 1908, The Lansing Golf Club was formed by a group of 17 men.

These men leased the land and the soon-to-be built “locker house” from J.H. Moores, a local developer who visualized the golf club as a booster to his subdivision along the winding Grand River. F.W. Hodges, the golf professional at the Detroit Golf Club, was commissioned to lay out a six-hole golf course on 25 acres. In 1913, three more holes were added to the golf course, bringing the total to 9 holes. More changes came in 1916 when members purchased the land and buildings from J.H. Moores and the Club became the Riverside Country Club.
In 1920, the Club experienced a period of major development. Members acquired 160 acres of land that adjoined the Club, and William Langford, a nationally known golf course architect of the time, was commissioned to develop the layout for a new course. The Chicago Park Builders were engaged to construct the course, and the new clubhouse, designed by Samuel D. Butterworth, proudly opened September 21, 1920. The Club later reorganized in 1922 under the name Country Club of Lansing.

During the 1970s and 80s, the CCL continued to thrive and build on its historic foundation. The structure itself continued to experience a number of improvements to keep up with the changing needs of the members. The reputation of the Country Club of Lansing was well established as one of impeccable service and exquisite ambiance in the Lansing area.

In 1999, the membership voted to partake in a $7 million renovation to the clubhouse. The Country Club of Lansing today continues to provide a traditional country club lifestyle for its membership, their families and guests.